THE COLORS

Welcome to my blog for the month of May, 2012. I have been looking for some inspiration for my foster daughter’s nursery. I went around and selected a color palette first. My favorite site to look through for color selection is http://www.colourlovers.com/ they have a wide variety and I can select in the browse area a hue that I am leaning more towards.

First off let’s start with the wall color. I currently rent my home and can not paint in the rooms so I need to find something to match the dark green wall color that the owners picked out when they painted the house. So I select a hue of green. Then generically most people associate pink with the female sex and I wanted to stray away from the normal with this design scheme. I like purple I think we will look and see what Colourlovers bring into light with green and purple (or as they call it violet). So far I have green and purple, now knowing that I may not be adopting this child and will have children of my own down the road I want to bring in a third color to depend on more than the purple, since it is not gender neutral, and this third color will be more of a back bone than the purple but I want it to pop a little more that the purple, so I think I’ll try yellow and see what we get.

These are a small selection of the over 30 pages the site gave me to chose from but i found one that I am leaning toward so I stopped looking and took a screen shot for you. Although the are all nice I love the top one. It does however have four colors and I only wanted three so the far left will not be used, it is more of a baby green than the walls in our baby room. The reason I like the purple and yellow in that palette over the other ones shown are that the mature tones allow for growth of our baby and allow the decor to still look nursery-like while she is an infant. I figure if I had to let someone sleep in a room with these colors they wouldn’t die from brightness even at night. LOL, but instead would calmly go to sleep or read or whatever someone growing up would need to do as they age. I’m sure she will not keep the color or decor forever but longer than just until she is 4 and wants to redecorate… that is what I would like to avoid, if at all possible (since this is my first child I will just have to find out).

About amwilkinson

I am a college student at Full Sail University. Studying Graphic Design, This month our main project is to create a blog talking about something in the design industry. So here I am and I'm ready to chat!

Leave a Reply

